Location Map

City Government‎ > ‎Departments‎ > ‎Police‎ > ‎

Corrections


Mesquite Detention Center

Inmate Information

All individuals arrested on a misdemeanor offense within city limits are booked into the Mesquite Detention Center, located at 500 Hillside Drive, Mesquite, Nevada  Individuals arrested for gross misdemeanors and/or felony charges will be temporarily held at the Mesquite Detention Center prior to being transported to the Clark County Detention Center, located at 330 S Casino Center Dr, Las Vegas, NV 89101.

Processing and Bail

The processing of arrestees is designed to reduce the anxiety level for new arrestees. The booking process ensures:

  • Arrestees are properly identified. 
  • Paperwork submitted by arresting agency is complete and accurate. 
  • Arrestees’ personal property, money receipts and other miscellaneous items are properly recorded. 
  • Arrestees are medically screened for any health problems. 
  • Completion of the fingerprint process. 
  • Arrestees remain in custody pending court arraignment, bail, bond, release on their own recognizance, and/or sentencing. 

Bail information can be obtained by calling (702) 346-6925.


Inmate Visitation Schedule

Male Visiting Hours
Sundays and Thursdays 2:00 PM until 4:00 PM.

Female Visiting Hours
Mondays and Wednesdays 2:00 PM until 4:00 PM.

All visitors must be pre-approved prior to visitation. Each visitor will be required to show valid government issued photo identification prior being allowed to visit a inmate. All visitors will checked to make sure they do not have any active arrest warrants.

Visitors under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult.  Please allow at least 30 minutes check-in time prior to visitation. A person may be denied visitation if he or she:

  • Is wearing improper attire. 
  • Is under the influence of drugs or alcohol. 
  • Is a convicted felon. 
  • A juvenile who is unaccompanied by an adult 
  • Has been incarcerated at the Detention Center within the last six months. 
  • Has outstanding warrants. 
  • Is on active probation, parole or any other form of conditional release. 
  • Shows substantial evidence to constitute a threat to the inmate or security of the facility.


Legal Visits

Legal visits are provided by appointment only.  Appointments can be made by calling (702) 346-6925.  All visitors must be pre-approved this includes the Attorney and anyone accompanying the Attorney. A valid picture identification card is required.


Mail Rules

Mailing address example:

Inmate Name:    Inmate John Doe
Address:           500 Hillside Dr.
City, State, Zip: Mesquite, NV 89027
  • Inmates are authorized to receive written correspondence. 
  • All incoming and outgoing inmate mail is searched for contraband prior to being sent; charges will be filed on all criminal acts 
  • Packages are not permitted. 
  • If inmates receive unauthorized mail, it will be returned to the sender. If it does not have a return address, it will be confiscated. 
  • Revealing photographs, explicit pictures and all other inappropriate materials will be confiscated.


Placing Money on an Inmate's Books

Money may be placed on an inmate's books 24 hours per day, 7 days per week at the Mesquite Justice Facility, located at 500 Hillside Drive, Mesquite, Nevada.

Cash, money orders or cashiers checks are accepted as payment to inmate accounts, (made payable to the receiving inmate); only denominations of $20 or less will be cashed. Personal checks are not accepted.

Commissary is purchased on Wednesdays and Saturdays only.


Inmate Phone Calls

The Mesquite Detention Center is contracted with Securus Technologies, an independent company that provides and maintains the Mesquite Detention Center's phone system. You can obtain more information about the billing options Securus Technologies  offer by clicking on one of the green hyper-links or calling (800) 844-6591. 


Property Release

The property of an inmate will only be released with the written approval of the inmate.

Property release times are 7:00 AM to 5:00 PM.


Release Information

You may call the Mesquite Detention Center at (702) 346-6925 for inmate release information.


Victim Notification

VINELink- A independent company the City of Mesquite uses to assist the victims of crimes with live updates and information concerning the offender's location, custody status, court appearances and final release date from the Mesquite Detention Center. You can obtain more information about VINE and/or registration procedures by clicking on the green link or by calling (888) 268-8463  TTY (866) 847-1298.


General Information

To obtain information related to inmates housed within the Mesquite Detention Center, please call (702) 346-6925.

For other area detention centers, please call the following numbers:

Clark County Detention Center, (702) 671-3900
North Las Vegas Detention Center, (702) 633-1400
Henderson Detention Center, (702) 267-4652
Purgatory Correctional Facility -
Washington, Utah (435) 656-6600