Municipal Court

The Mesquite Municipal Court is a court of limited jurisdiction operating within the Nevada Court System

Understanding the Mesquite Municipal Court

  • The Mesquite Municipal Court is a court of limited jurisdiction operating within the Nevada Court System.
  • The court primarily presides over misdemeanor criminal cases and traffic matters.

Mission Statement

  • Our mission is to ensure the prompt and fair adjudication of all cases; to provide efficient and courteous service; to preserve the integrity of the judiciary; and to maintain a safe environment for both employees and the public.

History of Mesquite Judges

History - Judges Who Have Served in Mesquite.pdf

Contact

500 Hillside Drive
Mesquite, NV 89027

Fax:
(702) 346-6587
business Hours

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:00 am–5:00 pm

Tuesday: 7:00 am–5:00 pm

Wednesday: 7:00 am–5:00 pm

Thursday: 7:00 am–5:00 pm

Friday: Closed

Saturday: Closed

Parent department
No items found.
Divisions
No items found.
more contact

Courtroom Rules

  • No Weapons are allowed in the Courthouse. This includes guns, knifes, and other illegal weapons. Visitors to the building are subject to screening for weapons and illegal items. At the screening equipment visitors must remove all metal and place it in a basket for screening.
  • All beepers, cellular telephones, and electronic devices must be turned off before entering the courtroom. Avoid reading newspapers, or books in the courtrooms, particularly if your use of such material may be a distraction to others.
  • No eating, drinking, or chewing gum in the courtroom.
  • No backpacks or purses in the courtroom.
  • Proper courtroom attire is required. Business attire is the preferred mode of dress when attending a court appearance. You may not wear tank tops, bare midriff tops, halter tops, shorts, or any other clothing either too casual, too revealing, or inappropriate. Clothing, which shows offensive slogans or pictures, is not allowed. Hats must be removed before entering the courtroom.
  • Avoid bringing children to court. If it is necessary to do so, please monitor their behavior so they remain quiet at all times. If they are quiet, children are allowed in the courtroom, but parents may be asked to leave the courtroom if their child becomes noisy or unruly.

COURT BAILIFFS/CORRECTIONS STAFF ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR SECURITY AND ENFORCEMENT OF COURTROOM STANDARDS.

Media Guidelines

Camera, video, and recording access to court hearings is only granted to interested media after filing a Media Request form and faxing it to (702) 346-6587.  

Rules on cameras and electronic media coverage in the court are covered in the Nevada Supreme Court Rules, Part IV; Rule 229 through 246. Click here to view the rules. A “Media Request and Order Allowing Cameras in the Courtroom” must be granted before cameras are allowed in the courtroom.   

Any questions regarding media requests should be directed to the Municipal Court Clerk at 702-346-5291.

Forms and Documents

No items found.

Locations

view a list of Locations below

News

No items found.

Events

Team

No items found.

Frequently Asked Questions

Expand

What is the Appeal Process?

If you wish to appeal your conviction, an appeal must be filed within 10 days of your conviction. Failure to do so may result in the dismissal of your appeal by District Court. When filing an appeal you must complete the following at the Mesquite Municipal Court within 10 days of your conviction: 

1. Pay the $25 Appeal Filing fee. (NRS 5.073(2); 4.060(1)(h)).

2. Post an Appeal Bond.

          If the defendant’s sentence included a fine and no jail time, the Appeal Bail is the amount of the total amount of fines, fees, and court costs.

          If the defendant’s sentence included jail time, a Motion for Appeal Bond shall be filed with the sentencing judge by the defendant or defendant’s attorney.

3. File a “Notice of Appeal”.

For more information regarding the Appeal process, you should consult an attorney, or research the matter at your local Law Library. Court employees are prevented by statute (NRS 7.285) from providing legal advice.

Expand

What do I need to bring with me to Court?

You need to bring a copy of your citation.

You must pay the fine listed on your citation if you plead Guilty or No-Contest.

If you were issued a citation for No Insurance, No Vehicle Registration, or No Valid Driver’s License and you had it prior to the date you received the citation or obtained it after that date, you would need to bring proof documenting that fact to your scheduled court date.

Expand

What do I do when I arrive at court?

At the beginning of the court session, the court will explain your plea options and review the basic court session process. 

Not Guilty: You will receive a trial date.Guilty or Nolo Contendere (No Contest): You will be sentenced by the Judge for the charge(s).

Expand

What are my plea options?

At the beginning of the court session, the court will explain your plea options and review the basic court session process. 

Not Guilty: You will receive a trial date.Guilty or Nolo Contendere (No Contest): You will be sentenced by the Judge for the charge(s).

Expand

Sealing Criminal Records

Click here for information regarding Sealing Misdemeanor Criminal Records in the Mesquite Municipal Court.  The fee for filing a petition to seal criminal records is $50.

Expand

Public Defender Requests

A Public Defender may only be appointed if the City is seeking a jail sentence on your charge and you meet the Federal guidelines for appointment of a Public Defender.  If no jail time is requested, a Public Defender will not be made available to you.

If the Court appoints a Public Defender on your case, you will be provided with contact information for your court appointed Public Defender and your Public Defender will be provided with your contact information so that you can be prepared for your next scheduled court date.

Expand

Interpreters / Accessibility

The court provides assistance to individuals who are deaf, hearing-impaired, or who do not understand or speak English. In addition, the court provides assistance to individuals requiring special assistance to access the court. In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) the court provides equal access and reasonable accommodations to all deaf, hard-of-hearing and hearing-impaired persons in all of its programs and services.

Please notify court staff if you require an interpreter or assistance to access the court.

Expand

How do I resolve a warrant?

You may contact the Mesquite Municipal Court by phone or in person to determine what bail amount is needed.  Depending on why your warrant was issued, your warrant may be able to be cleared by paying the full bail amount.  For all questions regarding warrants, call the Mesquite Municipal Court at 702-346-5291.

Expand

Do I have to appear in court for my citation?

You are not required to appear on your scheduled court date if your citation qualifies for resolution without your appearance (see the back of your citation) and you want to plead No Contest or Guilty and pay the citation.The bail amount indicated on the citation must be paid in full prior to the court date on the citation and can be paid in person, via mail, or via telephone. The total amount due is located at the lower right corner of the citation. If bail is not indicated on the citation, call the court.  You must also sign the back of the citation (bottom of page) and return it to the Court. The applicable demerit points will be reported to the DMV following the court date on your citation. Mandatory Court Appearance:  You must appear in Court on the date and time indicated on the face of the complaint for any of the following:

1. If you wish to plead NOT GUILTY on any charge listed on the complaint

2. Reckless driving traffic offenses

3. Fraudulent use of driver’s license or car license plates offenses: includes borrowing, loaning, stolen, fictitious, not licensed, or allowing unlicensed person to drive

4. All insurance offenses, no vehicle registration offenses, no valid license offenses, and all non-traffic offenses.

5. All juveniles 17 years or younger MUST APPEAR and be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian

6. Your citation indicates that you have a MANDATORY COURT APPEARANCE.

Expand

Discovery or Police Report Requests

For Discovery materials for your case, contact the Mesquite City Attorney’s Office, Criminal Division at (702) 346-8831.

For a police report, contact the Records Division of the Mesquite Police Department at (702) 346-5262.

Expand

Courtroom Terminology

Expand

Civil /Family /Justice /Juvenile Court Matters

Civil Court Matters

The Civil Law Self-Help Center provides self-help legal information to those wishing to represent themselves in civil matters in the Clark County court system.

Family Court Matters

The Family Division of the Eighth Judicial District Court presides over family court matters such as divorces, annulments, name changes, spousal support, adoptions, or child custody issues.  You may visit the Family Law Self-Help Center for forms and additional information about the Family Courts.

Justice Court Matters

The Mesquite Justice Court has responsibilities for matters ranging from felony arraignments and preliminary hearings to small civil cases (up to $10,000), small claims cases (up to $7,500), protective orders, and landlord-tenant disputes. For more information visit the Mesquite Justice Court.

Juvenile Court Matters

The Eighth Judicial District Court Juvenile Court handles cases involving minors (anyone under the age of 18) who have been charged with violating the law, such as juvenile delinquency or other offense in Clark County.  For additional information visit the Clark County Juvenile Justice Services.